Revolution!

“So if I decide to waiver my chance to be one of the hive

Will I choose water over wine and hold my own and drive?

Its driven me before and it seems to be the way

That everyone else gets around

But lately I’m beginning to find that when I drive myself

My light is found..”

I am continually in awe of web 2.0 and how its changed the world. I love thinking that in the future people will be writing a thesis or essay on the changes my generation went through with the introduction of the intertubes. We made history. Our adaptation to this new, broader world will be documented for the ages. We ‘prod-users’, writers of blogs, forum lovers, chat room drama queens and wiki-sourcing information seekers are the future of the world. Everyone is forced to adapt to our way, or risk becoming obsolete.

We want our news up to date and free. We want to be able to contribute to the content. In a world driven by consumerism, we push for free accounts, free sign ups, free music and videos.. most importantly, free speech. No longer will we wait for dvd, or even cinemas. We’re getting our blockbusters right after the premiere. We no longer bow to the record companies, who are now reduced to practically begging us to buy cds out of the kindness of our hearts. Out of integrity. Where was their integrity when they were stepping on the rest of us in a mad scramble to the peak of the money making moguls?

Artists, actors, journalists.. you will be forced to adapt. Your skills are no longer as unattainable as once thought. Youtube gets as much views as the high rated movies. Music can and will be found online, with ease. Its even scarier for the journalists, once they had a niche.. they had a style, a skill which was taught through experience, or found with the grace of talent.

Now anyone can and will be a writer. People sitting at home behind their WordPress blogs rival the highest paid and most ruthless journo’s. We are everywhere, and they are not. You can be sure someone, somewhere, got to the scene first. We got your scoop. How do you like that Murdoch? All your newspapers and magazines forced to move online. Your sales are plummeting.

We don’t want to hear about the world in your uppity, holier than thou tone. You need to relate to us, or we will go elsewhere because there are endless anywheres. I want to hear what the blogs have to say on world issues, theres no reason why they would not be just as correct. I want to hear what my people are saying. I’m going to support my new community. The world is shrinking, and maybe I don’t know my neighbours but I sure as hell know the internet.

We’re paving the way for the new world and its exciting. I can’t imagine what the people of the future will live like. Maybe we all sit in great halls together lined up behind desktops, our meals served to us on a timed schedule by drones. Maybe the internet opened up the world to a revolution, we all joined together and conspired against the multinational corporations pulling capitalism to the ground at its roots, creating a free earth with a new direction. Where humanity takes precedence over the market.

Far out that sounds awesome.. If anyone gets wind of this revolution, let me know asap. I want in.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Revolution!”

  1. johnnyburroughs Says:

    Now if only we can figure out this whole food air deal.

  2. dchero Says:

    It’s undoubtedly an interesting time to be witness to. If 2.0 is the new entertainment medium though, where are those $$ spent on entertainment in the past going to go? They won’t go into savings accounts, I can tell you that much.

Leave a Reply

