Catch Meme If You Can!

Time for another meme, this one is from Club Wah, the home of a very witty and funny writer.. Go check out some of his stuff.

This meme dictates that I should find the closest book to me, open it to page 123 and write the fifth sentence.

I’ve been re-reading The Catcher In The Rye by J. D. Salinger during my breaks at uni, because I concentrate on the story better when I’m bored with nothing to do. This sentence is actually pretty awesome:

“The trouble with girls is, if they like a boy, no matter how big a bastard he is, they’ll say he has an inferiority complex, and if they don’t like him, no matter how nice a guy he is, or how big an inferiority complex he has, they’ll say he’s conceited.”

After I read a few pages, I start narrating in my head Holden Caulfield styles. It can be kinda weird in class because instead of discussing normally, I feel like playing around and analysing people’s phoniness. He’s a brilliant character with an unmistakable voice.

Thanks for the tag, Wah! And now to keep the circle of life moving I tag:

Andy from The Bullhorn, who is absolutely hilarious, and I need to pay him back for getting me last time.

Terry from Unrequited Love And Other Madness, whose musings on life and love are very astute,

and

Ray from Alpine Opinion, another clever writer who has a unique love for Sophie Mirabella (heh, this is how internet rumours start).

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Catch Meme If You Can!”

  1. Ray Dixon Says:

    Oh thanks LuLi (I think) but what’s the go here? You say:

    This meme dictates that I should find the closest book to me, open it to page 123 and write the fifth sentence.

    And then you say I have a unique love for Sophie Mirabella !!!

    Big problem LuLi – right now I’m reading “Sophie’s compassion for indigineous Australians” and guess what? There ain’t no words on page 123, or any other page.

    Also, my reading is normally limited to the Herald Sun, The Border Mail & The Bright Observer, and none of those fine & esteemed publications have anything like 123 pages! And they’re not books.

    Oh, there’s gotta be a book around here somewhere. Leave it with me and see. Cheers.

  2. LuLi Says:

    I have the highest confidence in you and your 5th sentence 123rd page finding abilities, and I just know you’ll come up with something interesting 🙂
    Sorry about Mirabella, that was a low blow, but I couldn’t resist!

  3. vian sullivan Says:

    Poor Luli, nice try but I doubt very much Dixon has ever read a book that had 100 pages. At least he seems to acknowledge the difference between a newspaper and a book. And Luli Dixon is not a writer he’s a blogger. Big difference! With leftists like Dixon who needs fascists!

  4. LuLi Says:

    Hahaha blogging is writing, just on the internet, isn’t it? I didn’t realise he was that allergic to books, maybe this will motivate him to get onto it 😛

  5. raydixon Says:

    Vian, I’ll have you know that I DO know the difference between a newspaer and a book.

    A newspaper is tabloid size, has a paper cover and contains lots of pictures with a few words under them. A book is smaller, has a harder cover … and contains lots of pictures with a few words under them.

    I also know the difference between a nice person and a dickhead. LuLi is a nice person, you are a dickhead.

  6. LuLi Says:

    Aw Ray, I knew I meme’d you for a reason! *blush*

  7. raydixon Says:

    It’s just the truth LuLi, from what I’ve read. Btw, who is “vian”, a regular? It sounds more like you’ve had a visit from one ‘Mad’ Andy Landeryou.

  8. This Devil's Workday Says:

    I think most guys can relate to Holden Caulfield, or most people probably. Really good book.

  9. LuLi Says:

    Ray – No, not a regular.. Haven’t seen them here before, I thought it must have been a friend of yours.

    Mr Workday – It has to be one of my all time favourites. I still laugh when reading it, and thats pretty hard for a book to get someone to do.

  10. raydixon Says:

    Vian’s no “friend” of mine LuLi. Sounds like Landeryou then.

  11. LuLi Says:

    Oh is that right? In my house, we don’t stand for haters so Landeryou can feel free to use the door 🙂

  12. Steph Says:

    I wanna play, I wanna play, I wanna play-

    “click Ok when done”.

    Book- Absolute Beginners guide- Computer Basics, Michael Miller.

    Haaaaaa!

  13. LuLi Says:

    Lol thats a good sentence Steph – So relevant to our time!

Leave a Reply

