Luli Is So Sad

sad

My laptop is broken. Its all my fault really, I got sick of it being so slow so I flipped it over and pulled out the battery in a huff, as a kind of super fast reset without having to wait for windows to shut down. Every time I’ve tried to turn it on since, it just says ‘fan fail’ and turns off again. So I’ve temporarily (I hope its temporarily anyway!) lost all my music, articles, assignments, anime and all the freakin pictures I’ve been saving for years that only get to shine through these posts. I can’t afford to fix it till I start work, which is two weeks I think, so that means my beloved blogging beauties, I can only sporadically update and comment for a couple of weeks. And that will be when I’m either at my dads place stealing their internet (like right now), when I’ve stolen my brothers desktop off him for a few mins or when I risk sacrificing my eyesight to the dimly lit broken screen of my sisters lappy. I’ve been doing that this week, but seriously my eyes are bugging out, I’m gonna be blind soon if I keep it up.

So apparently, I have to learn to live how the rest of the world does, with offline hobbies or something? Who the hell would want to live in reality? I’ve been walking around the house, opening books, reading a few pages then closing them, turning on the tv then turning it off again, cleaning (WTF?!) and organising my room and sitting in the backyard for long periods of time looking up to the sky and crying over my lappy. I’m not even joking, I really did cry, you don’t know what that thing means to me. I’m lost in the real world. I’ve decided to learn how to read runes, but thats gonna take me like 2 days, so if anyone has any idea what I can do to occupy my time with please comment, suggestions very welcome.

christmas-11

I’ve been thinking I might handmake christmas cards for my mum to send off, I did it last year but it was a joint effort with India. Its a lot of work but what else do I have to do, right? My mum is scared of the mess, but its India who took over the bench not me. Plus for a non religious mofo, I really like christmas, I get into the spirit, everyones all happy and theres decorations and good will and sappy movies and candy canes and christmas lights.. Goddamnit I’m delirious aren’t I? See what happens when I have no net! How am I supposed to know what the celebrities are doing or catch up with The Hills? How will I know when Israel cuts off the water in Gaza again, or kills a family by bulldozing their house? How am I gonna keep up with all of you kids and your goings on and happenings? I don’t have two weeks of internet time spare, I have to keep on top of things. I can’t stand that I’m missing everything.

Anyway, my sis Min thinks it was a sign, like I was getting too addicted. Man, I hate it when she’s right. Okay well, I better be off, take my sad kitten face back to the ‘real world’. Why meeee, whyyyyy? *Out*

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

23 Responses to “Luli Is So Sad”

  1. Reuben Says:

    Just try doing some yoga…or eating yoghurt; those tend to engage me.

  2. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Welcome to my world (looks like I’m going to have to bite the bullet and go back to my old work next week… early mornings… dirty nails again… goodbye to holidays… mleh).

    OK… plan of action…

    Go to Borders and buy a book or two. GOOD ones. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance for example. It’s in the Western Philosophy section.

    Then…

    Increase your gym time. If you don’t go, start going. No excuses anymore!

    Do your Christmas shopping now! The Doncaster upgrade is pretty cool (not that I went before it, but I’m still impressed, plus I saw Gary Lyon (not sure why that’s good but it’s worth mentioning)).

    Ever wanted to learn drums? Start now. Don’t have drums? Use pots from the kitchen.

  3. Marty Says:

    A year ago I hung out with someone who used to glue actual wooden Christmas ornaments onto home-made cards and sell them. The envelopes got bulky but they were pretty!

    Ironically I then sort of ‘missed’ Christmas last year, so I’m excited about this one. I already know I won’t have to work on the day, glory be!

    No idea what to tell you about how to fill your days now. A steamy affair?

  4. LuLi Says:

    Reuben – I already do both of those things and they’re pretty good.

    TDW – You’re saying goodbye to your holidays? Thats fair I spose, I’m over mine too. I can’t wait to be in office girl clothes and heels walking round the city. I want to buy the books but I feel guilty not reading the books I already have that people have given me and said were good. I figure that I’ll get through them on the train and on my work breaks, so right now I’m having a book break. The rest of your suggestions are good though, running more is looking like a chore right now. I’m in a mopey stage.

  5. LuLi Says:

    Marty, its so hard not to get into the christmas cheer, its just so exciting and always a happy time. A steamy affair sounds great!

  6. Reuben Says:

    In that case, my next suggestion would be to grow an afro.

  7. Kezza Says:

    I’d be lost too, but as for real world options, I don’t know that I have much I can offer. Maybe you could make lists, like how many words can you think of that end with A T E but you must start each word with the second letter of the previous one, eg: pick a letter, lets say N then a word, Nominate, the next word must start with O so Ovulate, then Veriagate, Emancipate and so on. You’ll have hours of fun. You can also adapt this into a drinking game with a group of people, every time someone repeats an answer they must drink. It starts off slow but you end up maggoted in no time! You could also do lists of Countries, animals, colours… In case you couldn’t tell I like lists, plus its a real challenge when you have no internet to help you!

  8. LuLi Says:

    Reuben – My mane is hard enough to maintain in its curled state, but I could so fluff it out to be an afro with enough hair spray.

    Kezza – Thats a pretty good game. Ovulate probably isn’t the first o word to come to mind for me, but i like that it is for you! I actually am in love with lists. I make them all the time and get great pleasure from ticking off what I’ve done. Just makes me feel so.. accomplished.

  9. Kezza Says:

    Well then, list away my dear! Sometimes I scare myself by thinking of a word like ovulate by default, but you’ll soon learn if you ever play the game with friends that there are a lot of very grotty words that end in A T E.

  10. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Retrograde ejaculation. This is actually a really good post idea, Kezza.

  11. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Obviously, I meant to say “retrograde ejaculATE”

  12. LuLi Says:

    I think we all know what you really meant was that you are getting fresh with Kezza. You had your chance to get your hands on his g-string many posts ago and theres no going back now, just move on!

    😀

  13. This Devil's Workday Says:

    I take offence.

  14. LuLi Says:

    What?? How can you take offence, didn’t you see my angelic yet cheeky smile? Its right there above your comment! I never do anything wrong, I’m like the Care Bears or Hillary Duff.. You can’t do this to me! I reject your taking offence!

  15. Domino Says:

    man I feel for you…i’m trying to think of something for you to do..but I can’t! there’s nothing else out there!!!

  16. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Maybe it if had’ve been edible. THEN I’d understand.

  17. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Now for a REAL response:

    I know how you feel sort of. My laptop just about died not long ago when the screen decided to finally cark it. I had to plug in an external monitor courtesy of my Dad’s work. So I just bought a new one, an Asus. It’s perfectly good, but for some reason crashes if I turn the internet off and then on again. It doesn’t like me turning the net on after it’s loaded up. Hates it.

    And try to go to one of those geek computer stores to save money. Often found right next door to an officeworks, or there’s some store called… MSC? I dunno. I went once, freaky as, you have to know what you’re looking for.

  18. gullybogan Says:

    We promise not to do anything interesting until you get back.

    I’ve rung the Israelis, and they’ve agreed to stop killing school kids and babies, too, just while your lappy’s in the doll hospital.

  19. LuLi Says:

    Domino – I know huh, theres nothing worth doin if it ain’t on the net!

    TDW – It kinda does make me feel better to know that I’m not the only one who has suffered. I think I will go to one of those stores, they do know what they’re on about. I wish I could take my dad, he’s like a computer king, but he’s doing the India thing again.

    Gully – Thank you! Oh my god, you deserve a Nobel Peace prize for the Israeli effort, but I’m sure they understood once you said it was for me. I’m kind of a big deal around there.

  20. Frog Says:

    Aw, you silly girl, is there a library you could possibly go to? they have computers…with internet hopefully.

  21. This Devil's Workday Says:

    Don’t you know there’s a list of friends you’re supposed to have? One of those includes the computer geek. Others include the car mechanic, the fashionista and the non-drinker (for designated driving).

    Hmm.. I need to make a post about this.

  22. Friends You’re Supposed to Have « This Devil’s Workday Says:

    […] You have to have someone on hand to tell you what’s wrong with your computer at all times. Now that we’re in the 21st century, not having access to a computer just won’t cut it anymore. Unfortunately problems occur on a regular basis. Unexplained crashes, missing files, inability to connect to your wireless network (let alone make it secure). You need a friend on hand to solve these problems free of charge, like your own personal IT service. If LuLi had one of these, she wouldn’t be going through the problem she’s having right now. […]

  23. LuLi Says:

    Frog – Oh, I’ll just go to my dads if I need to, he has superfast internet that could do with a Luli workout. If I didn’t go there, it wouldn’t get any use!

    TDW – And just like that, in a flash of inspiration, he was off! Seconds later, I was pinged.

Leave a Reply

