NYC Let Me Upgrade You

“Partner let me upgrade you, Audemars Piguet you

Switch your neck ties to purple labels

Upgrade you, I can up, can I up, let me upgrade you

Partner let me upgrade you..

Partner let me upgrade you,

Flip a new page, introduce you to some new things &

Upgrade you, I can up, can I up, let me upgrade you

Partner let me upgrade you..”

chidori

My friends, there comes a time when a girl looks at her blog and wonders why it no longer inspires her with the spark of creativity it once did. There is no lack of imagination on my part, and its true that life has thrown me a few curve balls with my laptop breaking down, internet being capped and fulltime job about to be started. But it takes a lot more than that to keep a writer away from her most enjoyable hobby, and her blogger family.

I am not giving up, I still have hundreds of stories and ideas left to share with you, and I don’t want to be out of the loop on your own unfolding sagas. However, I can hardly say I’m the same teary princess who built a confessional from anime, song lyrics and heartache. In fact I’ve never been much of a princess at all, but I’ve definitely been spoilt. I let myself drown in all the drama of it all, and to be honest, thats not me.

So what I propose to you all is something a little more me, and a little less cryface olden time Luli. My blog needs a change. And what I want from you all is merely an opinion on what I should do. I’m never gonna lose the anime, and the lyrics are a big part of me (even though I’ve lost my years of songs to the destruction of my lappy) so you can settle down, I still have to be the Luli after all. Its the title that weighs on me.

fmp_kaname122

“I can do for you what Martin did for the people

Ran by the men but the women keep the tempo

Its very seldom that you’re blessed to find your equal

Still play my part and let you take the lead role believe me

I’ll follow this could be easy

I’ll be the help whenever you need me

I see your hustle with my hustle I can keep you

Focused on your focus I can feed you..” 

Nothing You Confess Could Make Me Love You Less – Well, it did suit me back in the day. But not now. I mean its a great song, its beautiful, a classic even.. Its just a little too long, a little too cumbersome, too hard to say, carries too much memories of a time or person that I no longer associate myself with. We’re growing here aren’t we? Through our writing? I’ve outgrown it.

But it is a big blogging step, and could potentially ruin everything. What if it confused people? What if they lost my address through all the moving and commotion? What if they don’t want change, they like the old me, the new one is an imposter? Are some things better off the way they are, going down the same street, sticking to what you first ordered?

Its not to say I wouldn’t write my soppy personal posts every now and then, injected with my drunken adventures through Melbourne. I think we all realise by now that I can’t keep my mouth shut when it comes to these things, as if awkwardness were something I revel in. I just like painting those pictures of what I’m feeling, and giving in to that whole voyeuristic, you can see what I’m thinking stuff.

“Just when you think we had it all

Big ends, condos, collecting cars

Picture your life elevated with me

Make you my project celebrity

I keep your name hot in them streets

Its that little glimpse of light

That makes the diamond really shine

And you already is a star, but

Unless your flawless

Then ya dynasty ain’t complete without a chief like me..”

kanamechidori

So I want to rename my blog Streets On Fire, a tribute to my favourite song, the one I wrote a post about on the bottom of this page, that I love so very dearly and is my vibe and essence. Its how I think and all of that. Its just more me, its more Melbourne, its more suited to doing what I do, discussing morals and issues and politics and philosophy. It even kinda suits the web address better. I’ll keep the anime banner just change the words. What do you think? Stupid? Am I crazy?

Okay, I tried to make a poll but this dinosaur lappy has frozen up each time, apparently multiple answer questions are too much for it to handle so I’ll leave this to the comments box. Streets On Fire or Nothing You Confess? Hit me up with your very valuable opinions. Thank you, much love!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Responses to “NYC Let Me Upgrade You”

  1. Den Relojo Says:

    The first time I came across with your blog— it’s really the anime stuff that has captivated my attention. The content is arguably serious and then there’s an anime that portrays such content. I find it cute, since I have been an anime fan too as a kid, and secretly like it still as an adult. I find it intriguing because you are writing about things which are quite detached from what I have on my own blog.

    Just keep on writing about things that envisage you as a writer, more than a blogger. Just do whatever it is that floats your boat.

  2. This Devil's Workday Says:

    I know how you feel – you’re more than aware of the multiple times I’ve tried to reinvent my blog. So I just stuck to a theme and said, to hell with it, I’ll write about whatever the hell I want to write.

    At the end of the day it’s up to you. We don’t do this for money, or for anyone else really, we create our own audience rather than search for one.

  3. Marty Says:

    ‘Streets on fire’ is my favourite post of yours, and if that’s what you feel on a day-to-day basis then it’s the title you should use, especially since quite a bit of what you write is about what is going on ‘out there’, in society, in the streets so to speak, how things and issues and people catch flame and other stuff that hasn’t yet but that needs to be lit up. But if you have further suggestions I’m curious what your poll would have included.

  4. Ray Dixon (Bright) Says:

    ‘Streets on Fire’ sounds good to me, LuLi. I think you can arrange a re-direction from your old address with WordPress.

  5. Luli Says:

    Den – I think its awesome you came for the anime, I know how you feel in that it can be kinda childish, but I think its pretty in its own way and the pics usually tell their own little story or scene. I think you’re right and I should just go with the flow and write what feels good.

    TDW – I knew you would get it. I think I’m done with my old theme and onto the new, or what I’ve been doing anyway, just named correctly. NYC just doesn’t seem like my thing anymore and I’m kinda happy to have outgrown it.

    Marty – Thanks, its my favourite post too 🙂 I agree I think its more to do with whats happening on the streets, and what people are reacting to, what we’re feeling about society.. Its nice to see you ‘get it’. I wasn’t sure on other names, either just ‘I Am The Luli’ or I was gonna take suggestions, but ultimately I had my heart set on ‘Streets On Fire’.

    Ray – Awesome, well I’m gonna take the leap and just do it. If I don’t like it in a week I’ll change back, but I think this is what I want.

  6. Reuben Says:

    I think you should have an original name – or, as in my case – a cheesy one.

  7. Luli Says:

    Theres no other blog with that name, is that original enough? I don’t mind having the name connected to a song, plus maybe one day Lupe will stumble across it and fall in love with me. Celebs google themselves all the time!

  8. Ray Dixon (Bright) Says:

    Well there you go, LuLi, you’ve changed it and still kept the same URL – well done, no drama, you go for it girl … (sorry about the Oprah thing there!)

  9. Luli Says:

    Cheers Ray, I already feel a lot better. 🙂

  10. Domino Says:

    Streets on Fire, iiiiii like it. and who cares who cares what anyone thinks anyway, it’s the internet, we’re all anonymous! (well, sorta anonymous)

  11. Luli Says:

    Ahh awesome! Thanks Domino. I do care what you guys think, your comments are always taken into consideration, and opinions seriously contemplated. But I often end up doing what I thought I would do anyway lol..

  12. gullybogan Says:

    I’ve been silent running for a few days and when i finally came back up to periscope depth and started reading this post, my heart moved up to my throat and thumped away in there for all it was worth; i thought you were signing off for ever!

    Happily, that’s not the case.

    “Streets on fire” has a catchy eschatological ring to it; ai yike it. I think i suits the existing manga banner nicely, too.

    And yes, we are all growing through this writing stuff. I reckon.

  13. Rayedish Says:

    I like ‘streets on fire’ so I’ll just go and change your name on my blog roll shall I?

  14. Luli Says:

    Gully – I’m touched you would be that choked up if I left =) Don’t worry I’m not going anywhere. I looked up eschatological and was pleasantly surprised by its meaning, and I feel that its a very accurate way to describe it, which makes me happy. Cheers!

    Rayedish – Yes, definitely change it. I’m going perma with this one!

Leave a Reply

