When Animals Are Animals..

A friend of my sisters work mate had a pet snake that she’d owned for years and years. It was a python and she loved it, every night it would curl up on her feet and sleep, warming her on cold evenings. Then out of nowhere the snake stopped eating and wouldn’t sleep on her feet, it would just stretch out beside her as far as it could go. Puzzled, she took him to the vet to see if he was sick. “You’re snake isn’t sick,” the vet told her. “He’s planning to eat you, so he’s stretching out to see if you can fit and not eating to make enough room for you in its body.”

ball-python-eating-2

What the fuck! How scary and crazy is that? She had to have it destroyed, as you would, but man.. Imagine the pet you thought loved you was quietly planning your murder! I still can’t get over it, I’ve been thinking about it constantly ever since. If she didn’t take him to the vet, she woulda been strangled and eaten.

I suppose it goes to show that even the animals we care for and create bonds with are still just animals at the end of the day. They follow their instincts. Or perhaps its because it was a reptile, not a mammal. You can’t really domesticate a snake I guess. They’re cold blooded, and predators, we have almost nothing in common for them to bond with us.

Monkeys are very close to our species, but we can’t really keep them as pets because they’re too smart for us. They can problem solve and coreograph scenarios, not to mention are scary as fuck! I’ve never understood why people would want to have them as pets, they’re so strong and have huge teeth and beady black eyes.. What about when those pet ones jumped that guy and ripped off parts of his body when he went in to feed them one day? He’d had them for ages then they suddenly just turned on him. It makes me rethink even having a cat!

christian-the-lion-with-friends

Then you hear and watch stories like Christian the lion, who was raised by a couple who freed him when he was old enough, and recognised and hugged them when they found him years later in the wild. He was just as savage as the lions in the pride he was the leader of, yet he reverted back to his domesticated state when they reappeared in his life.

Heres another nicer story, with no humans involved:

Well anyway, I’ve moved into my dads place for a while so I don’t have to worry about whether Pooky is planning my demise, but still its food for thought. Anybody else got some crazy animal stories to share?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “When Animals Are Animals..”

  1. Ray Dixon (Bright) Says:

    There was the one about this guy in America who wanted to prove that bears could accept humans and befriend them. So he went out and lived with them for about ten years, or something like that. All was going fine and he’d even been filmed hanging out with his Grizzly Bear mates. He made documentaries and stuff. But one day the film crew went out to film him and all they could find was his hat and his few remains, that his best buddies were still picking over. It seems there was a food shortage so the bears just figured, “OK, you’ll do.” Wild animals have no loyalty.

  2. Wendy Voltaire Says:

    I guess animals don’t have higher thinking skills than humans? Which sounds mean, but it’s a possibility. Everyone (even animals), their first instinct is to survive.

    Maybe animals don’t have the thinking power to distinguish between right and wrong? So their brains just switch off and go into survival mode. Though animals are interesting like that. That’s why I love National Geographic. 😀

  3. LuLi Says:

    Ray – Yeah to me its just ridiculous to think that a wild animal like a bear or killer whale would ever be your friend. Even domesticated dogs attack peoples babies after years of loyalty.

    Wendy – They can’t tell when they’re doing right or wrong, but cats and dogs definitely know when they’re being naughty I reckon. I love National Geographic too!

  4. Domino Says:

    LOL, that’s hilarious. I don’t think my cat is capable of murder. He’s too stupid.

  5. Marty Says:

    That is one scary story, and the pic reminds me of this time as a little kid I saw a little mouse run through a field of all these stone-still toads and sudeenly as it was running past one of them suddenly opened its mouth and swallowed him whole.

    The movie Anaconda is pretty B-grade but that bit where you see the animal’s insides contracting to fit in Jon Voigt is really fucked up and yet I can’t look away!

    My greatest nightmare is to be eaten alive by a giant snake, but a friend assured me that it would kill me before it tried to swallow and I was so reassured. ;o)

  6. Marty Says:

    Even so, I’ve been the Christian the lion vid and it’s beautiful.

  7. Marty Says:

    Fuck. SEEN the Christian the lion vid.

  8. TDW Says:

    I AM the motherfucking lion. G.

  9. gullybogan Says:

    I was told the exact same story (about the python figuring out if it could eat its owner) by one of Princess’s nephews who SWORE IT WAS TRUE AND THAT IT HAD HAPPENED TO A FRIEND OF HIS GIRLFRIEND.

    Now i don’t know what to think.

  10. LuLi Says:

    Domino – Yea I think my Pooky is probs too silly to ever accomplish it too, but ever since Cattie went missing I’ve been wondering if maybe he did do away with him =/

    Marty – Anaconda still scares me, and I know most of the snake scenes look pretty fake but still.. The thought of being eaten alive is horrible! And how sweet is that Christian the Lion thing? What an awesome lion.

    TDW – We know, we know! 😛

    Gully – Maybe we know the same person? Or maybe its an urban legend. Shall we send it to mythbusters?

  11. Lil Says:

    http://snopes.com/critters/snakes/measured.asp
    Snakes are so misunderstood. I would never worry about my royal python Loco.

  12. LuLi Says:

    who0o0o0a! Myth busted! Thanks Lil.

Leave a Reply

