Needs Moar Gyaru

This blog has wayyy too little gyaru. I think there might be about three posts all up? Not enough, considering they are my favourite fashion inspiration and all. I’ve been toying with the idea of  maybe being paparazzi to our own Melbournian species of gyaru and posting the pics up here, but they mainly reside in the city streets and I’m going back to uni next week so I won’t get as much exposure. We’ll see how I go. Right now it’s time for some of my favourite sub categories, B-Gyaru & Kogals, who rock the streets of Shibuya.

B-Gyaru are the more urban, hip-hop, street kinda chicas.

bgal2

bgal3

bgal

bgyaru

gal

gyaru

The trouble with loving gyaru style is that it doesn’t translate well on anyone who isn’t Japanese (or Asian) in appearance. I’ve tried, trust me, but if the teased hair isn’t making me look like Effie, then the clothes aren’t loud enough, or the accessories are making me look like I’m revisiting my youth. What is kawaii on them always seems to look mismatched on me, but at least I look unique in comparison to the rest of the Melb socialites my age.

Let’s check out some Kogals, I’m a huge fan of this school girl look. Tartan skirts with tiny hemlines paired with cardigans are innocent-cute but still very hot.

kogal4

kogal3

kogal2

kogal

Next up, I’ll be posting some of my other favs, the Hime Gyaru (princess gyaru) and some of the Harajuku Lolitas that inspired Gwen Stefani. The loli’s are a little too costumey & gothic for my tastes, but I appreciate their look nonetheless.

CiaoOoOo *^_^*

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Needs Moar Gyaru”

  1. The Mutant Says:

    You really dress like that? Really? Holy shit. I kneel before you! How hot. I love someone who has the ability to forge a bold style. Go for it, who cares if it doesn’t look quite right on a non-asian, if you own it then it’ll suit!

    Could you be my fashion mentor, please?

  2. LuLi Says:

    That’s the aim, but probs a couple of decibels lower than them on the scale.. Anything street, colorful & cute, but sometimes it seems to get lost in translation. Those girls can carry off anything! Its hard to be bold & not be too over the top, I’m still learning.

  3. The Mutant Says:

    I’m sure you can rock it. I learnt a long time ago that there is no such thing as too OTT, but there is such a thing as not confident enough to own your look. I say go hard!

  4. LuLi Says:

    Wise advice, I’m of the same school of thought. A lack of confidence is your own worst enemy.. My old best friend said something to me in my teens that is permanently stuck in my mind: “Wherever you go, walk into the room like you own the place” and I always do 😛

  5. gullybogan Says:

    If more girls did gyaru, the world would be a better place.

  6. LuLi Says:

    I want to live in that world!

Leave a Reply

